About Us

The Community Council of Llanfaelog elects 12 Councillors every 4 years to serve on the council.  Six councillors are elected from each of the wards of Llanfaelog and Rhosneigr. The wards contain the villages of Bryn Ddu, Llanfaelog, Pencarnisiog and Rhosneigr. These Councillors serve the community in their own time and do not get paid any allowances. At the annual general meeting the council elects the chairman, who serves for one year until the next AGM.

The elected members also represent the Community Council on various outside committees, which includes School Governors at the two local primary schools, Village Hall Committees, Project Rhosneigr and ad hoc groups working in the community.
The Community Council provides the following service to the community, it maintains a football field, two play areas, owns the village hall in Llanfaelog, maintains the public footpaths and the island feature in Llanfaelog, the Cemetery in Llanfaelog, Bus Shelters, the Memorial Clock Rhosneigr, two Picnic Areas and numerous seating areas.
The council also employs a Clerk, who is responsible for the financial management of the council budget, and also to advise the council at meetings.